18th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards

18th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards


A Magical Night Of Great Performance and special Tributes to Andrae' Crouch and Yolanda Adams

Big Winner Kirk Franklin Takes Home Artist of the year and song of the year awards.

Atlanta, GA - The "18th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards," was an evening of special tributes, great performances and memorable moments. Co-hosts Donnie McClurkin, Mary Mary and Michelle Williams (of the Grammy-award winning music group Destiny's Child) welcomed presenters Chris Tucker, Kirk Franklin, The Winans, Bow Wow, Karen Clark Sheard, Shirley Murdock and Sean Patrick Thomas.

The evening sparkled with a spectacular opening performance by Dorinda Clark Cole. The hosts for the evening Donnie McClurkin, Mary Mary and Michelle Williams each gave soul-stirring performances that brought the audience to their feet. Later, the auditorium became praise party central with hand clapping, foot stomping performances by Donald Lawrence and The Tri-City Singers, Smokie Norful, Ted and Sheri, Brent Jones & T.P. Choir, Israel & New Breed along with Angela Spivey.

One of the highlights of the evening was actor Sean Patrick Thomas, Marvin and Ronald Winans presenting living legend Pastor Andrae' Crouch with the James Cleveland Award which recognized his innovative and outstanding achievements in traditional gospel music. Gospel diva Yolanda Adams was presented with the Stellar Awards Hall of Fame Award. Chris Tucker and Kirk Franklin were part of the presentation while Kelly Price sang Adams a special tribute.

Kirk Franklin swept the awards by taking home five Stellar Awards. Donald Lawrence and newcomer Smokie Norful tied at three golden-flamed statues. Yolanda Adams, Ted & Sheri, Dorinda Clark Cole and the Canton Spirituals all tied with two awards. For a complete list of categories and winners see the winner's list.

The "18th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards" airs in national syndication over broadcast, cable and PAX-NET stations January 18, 2003 through February 16, 2003.


Share your Thoughts